“Fountain of Sorrow, Fountain of Light”

August was an intense month – a mixed bag,  for me. It is not a month (as Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II once said, referring to her Annus Horribilis) “on which I shall look back with undiluted pleasure.” Don’t you love the way she put that?

We did have a good deal of pleasure in August. As I look through the photos, I reflect with gratitude that we enjoyed a beautiful vacation, hosted a party to celebrate an important family milestone, hosted friends from out of town, took time to savor the beauty of nature (particularly at the beach) and started some exciting projects. Yet there was, running underneath all of the fun, a “fountain of sorrow.” It made me think of Jackson Browne’s song of the same name.

“I’m just one or two years and a couple of changes behind you
In my lessons at love’s pain and heartache school
Where if you feel too free and you need something to remind you
There’s this loneliness springing up from your life
Like a fountain from a pool

“Fountain of sorrow, fountain of light
You’ve known that hollow sound of your own steps in flight…

“You’ve had to hide sometimes but now you’re all right…

“You’ve had to struggle, you’ve had to fight
To keep understanding and compassion in sight…” – Jackson Browne, Fountain of Sorrow

Gregg & I struggled “to keep understanding and compassion in sight” last month, with the anniversary of Katie’s passing and all of the emotions that come with it. We had some difficult – make that painful – conversations.

Those conversations and their aftermath left me thinking about Jackson Browne’s words describing a pool of sorrow, or an aquifer, running underneath the surface of our lives. This is how it seems, sometimes, since Katie’s passing; it certainly didn’t apply to us before that. We can go along just fine for quite a while (“now you’re all right”), and then, suddenly, “there’s this loneliness springing up from your life, like a fountain from a pool” – and it threatens to drown us, temporarily.

That is why the practice of gratitude is so vital to my survival now. Practicing gratitude helps me to reflect on my blessings, to become aware of them, to connect with God (the source of all goodness), and this lifts my heart. You could say that gratitude is a “fountain of light.” I have to practice it – it is not automatic; it is a pleasant discipline, but a discipline, nonetheless. The more I practice, the more natural (and easier) it becomes.

One of the tools that has helped me in my practice of gratitude is a website called www.gratefulness.org. I signed up for a daily devotional from them, and oh, how it helps! They have even created an application (which is free) for iPhone and Android to encourage the practice. If you would like to receive their devotional, or download the free app, please follow the links above.

May you be richly blessed, and may you be aware of it!

3 thoughts on ““Fountain of Sorrow, Fountain of Light”

  1. Karen, I have always loved that Jackson Brown song and now look at it with new eyes.
    Thank you for this post. I, too, find gratitude to be the thing that helps get me through each day. And like you, look forward to receiving my e-mails from Gratefulness.org
    Looking forward to our walk.
    Love,
    Robin

  2. I know that valley. I know the relational pain that comes from the death of a child. I love that gratitude has helped you navigate your way through. I think for me it is gratitude, as well as hope, that helps get me through. Just keeping my eyes on what is and what is to come, instead of what is gone, is very helpful.

    Hope this fall is extremely refreshing for you.
    Much love, Karen

Leave a Reply

